An interview with Cheyenne!

Cheyenne lives with her two sisters, niece, and nephew in our East Garfield Park neighborhood here in Chicago. She has been a participant in Breakthrough’s youth programs since she was in the 6th grade.  Cheyenne is a young lady who is hard-working and persistent, even in the face of different obstacles.   She is a developing leader who many other girls in the Breakthrough program and neighborhood look up to.  This combined with her genuine spirit and big heart makes her a perfect participant for this program!

I sat down with Cheyenne yesterday and asked her some basic questions so you all can get to know her a little better….(transcripts below)

So Cheyenne, why did you originally want to join the Africa Running Program?

–“I wanted to join this program because I have always wanted to go on a trip like this and I love running so I thought it would be a good opportunity.  It sounded too scary at first especially because it is the first trip but then I thought, I could do this!”

Well, why do you like running so much?

–“Well i don’t really like running while I am running (smiling 🙂 )… The training is very hard and I sometimes get bored of going around the track again and again.  But I love how I feel when I am done and how it feels to run in a race with a bunch of people cheering you on!”

I totally agree! What have you learned so far that has been interesting?

–“I liked learning about South African history and Nelson Mandela, but I really liked learning about the child sponsorships and what life is like for kids over there.  Well, actually my favorite class was the race!” (Ravenswood 5k)

Is there any part of the upcoming trip that scares you?

–“YEAH, THE PLANE RIDE!!  I have never flown on a plane before and I hate going over water even when we roll over bridges!  Can’t I take some medicine to sleep the whole time or something???”

🙂 What are you looking forward to most about the trip?

–“A lot of things…but probably the most is getting to meet my sponsored child and getting to play and have fun with her!”

Awesome!  Is there anything else you would like to say to everyone out there following us?

–“Yeah, I feel so special for this, so thank you for supporting me and making this trip possible!”

— Cheyenne

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Joe Hofbauer on May 4, 2011 at 3:18 pm

    Cheyenne you’re amazing! Thanks for sharing about this process – we can’t wait to hear more about your experiences!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Pam Funk on May 4, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    Cheyenne I am so excited for you! It is so amazing what you are doing. The discipline it takes to keep running and to take on this great adventure is inspiring to me. I think about you a lot as I go through my day and I pray for you. Please let me know if there is anything specific I can pray about for you.

    Love Pam (Rusty’s Mom)

    Reply

  3. Posted by mo on May 4, 2011 at 11:55 pm

    Cheyenne, we are so proud of you and the beautiful young woman you are growing into:)

    Reply

  4. Posted by Russ on May 5, 2011 at 2:33 am

    Hey Cheyenne- Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the interview. I know exactly what you mean about being bored on the track… me too! Keep up the good work and run happy knowing there are a bunch of people cheering you on that you can’t even hear…yet! =)

    Russ

    Reply

  5. Posted by Amy Coles on May 5, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    we love you Cheyenne!

    Reply

  6. Posted by cheyenne on May 10, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    THanks To all Supporting me In the Running i LOve yoU ALL…… I will make This trip The best Time Of mi Life

    Reply

  7. Posted by Pat Kofka on May 17, 2011 at 12:16 am

    Go Girl!!!!! You are amazing and so caring. We both love you already and don’t even know you except for reading about you. We will be following you on this post and praying for you.

    Love,
    Pat and Dave in AZ

    Reply

  8. Posted by Dara McKaig on May 28, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    Cheyenne, Well, I guess you’ve now learned that the fear of flying is more the fear of the unknown. Once you made up your mind to just do it, you had that fear half battled. You are courageous! My prayers are with you as I watch you go through this journey!!!
    You are becoming somebody new! How exciting is that?
    (Rusty’s Aunt Dara)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

